Autosave is Bollocks – Says Druid’s Loom Reporter

A reporter for the Druid's Loom today assumed that 'Autosave' actually saved stuff.

ARRRGGGHHHH
ARRRGGGHHHH
Alexis / Pixabay

The article – a particularly excellent piece lampooning the Government’s handling of yet another crisis – was lost forever when the reporter mistakenly thought that autosave actually saved data.

Coffee
I couldn’t believe it,” the Druid’s Loom reporter explained with exasperation in his voice. “I popped into the kitchen to get a coffee and just left my completed work there up on the screen, I thought to myself it would be fine, as autosave is switched on. I have it set so it automatically saves my document every five minutes.

Closed the Document
Disaster struck however when the reporter returned to his work and accidentally closed the document he was working on.

Sorted
I reopened it and a message popped up saying, ‘do you wish to open an AutoSave version of this document’. I thought – ‘sorted,’ and clicked ‘yes’. Imagine my horror when all that appeared was the title of a previous document I had been working on.

Utter Bollocks
I assumed that ‘AutoSave” meant the document was automatically saved; but this turns out to be utter bollocks. It just lulls you into a false sense of security and deletes all your shit, the first moment you need it. Bastard!

 

 

[jetpack-related-posts]

0
0
votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments